blogging old skool

13Jul09

Papa, Papa! come quick I’ve found a slow worm

I wrote this while on holiday

I am sat, as I write this, on a sand dune. A cool North East wind is blowing off the Atlantic Ocean. The Towans stretch out before me, then the sea after that and then, the remnants of the sun sit on the horizon as the day fades into night.

Back at ‘base’ is my mobile, my E71, my macbook, my 3G+ card (not that it works here), my iPod, the television and a bunch of books. I have not used any of this stuff much, and as I sit, tucked into a pocket of shelter, high on a dune I take it all in.

Thinking

Full of thoughts and reflections

These last few weeks God has moved, not how I was expecting, or anticipating, but in ways that have really rocked me. Don’t get me wrong here, I feel good about things and I think a plan is forming.

A plan?

Well, a plan of sorts…

Earlier this evening I read a little more of Tom Wrights book Simply Christian. It is a good and stimulating read. It holds so much in pages and much of the teaching is compelling and at some points even stark.

What stood out tonight in the bit I read was that the church, the people of God, as a family have to walk hand in hand with the spirit. It was reading that that prompted me to take a walk out onto the Towans this evening.

It is awesome up here.

Earlier today I was summoned by my eldest ‘papa, papa! quick come here I have found a slow worm.’ I climbed to the top of the dune she was on and there, making its way lazily across the sand, I presume enjoying the morning head was a young slow worm.

In my heart the refrain repeats ‘Papa, Papa! look’

It is me

Work with me, draw me out, shape me, enjoy the sight of me, and let me revel in your love. May your spirit flow in and through me.

look Papa, here am I

