What is Church?

06Aug09

a while back I blogged about reading Tom Wrights book Simply Christian. I still am working through it and think that when I finish, I might just have to start again.

One passage that is particularly relevant to me at the moment is what Tom says in response to the question, what is church?

“It’s a place of welcome and laughter, of healing and hope, of friends and family and justice and new life. It’s where the homeless drop in for a bowl of soup and the elderly stop by for a chat. It’s where one group is working to help drug addicts and another is campaigning for global justice. It’s where you’ll find people learning to pray, coming to faith, struggling with temptation, finding new purpose, and getting in touch with a new power to carry that purpose out.  It’s were people bring their own small faith and discover, in getting together with others to worship the one true God, that the whole becomes greater than the sum of its parts.”

Tom writes (and speaks) with such clarity.

Earlier today I read a couple of posts by Frank Viola on the Out of Ur blog (link to both of them here). I can see I how, at the moment I am probably sitting in a post-church mindset, but do hope that over the coming months I (we) can find a framework that does take us to, and help is be an ‘organic expression of the body of Christ’.

Grace and peace

