How God Became King. Part 1/539

18Jun12

I picked up a copy of How God became King recently. When I say picked up, I actually mean that.. I went into my local branch of Waterstones and pulled it off the shelf and took it the counter.

Well I am two chapters and a preface in and am really enjoying it.  To be honest, I am taking it slowly, trying to savour the weight of the words, sentence, reading it ‘out loud in my head’ (something as a dyslexic reader I generally do anyway).  Hearing Wright’s voice as I read is helpful, it is a way of finding the metre, the rhythm and flow.

Anyway, why part 1 / 539? Well along with Martin, Andy and maybe some others from the parkology crew, we have decided to read it together, and I wanted to make notes along the way. So, in reality, I have no idea how many parts this is going to be, but it has the potential to be a few!

(And if you want a rapid summary, try Andrew Jones (aka TSK’s review))

Chapters 1 and 2, along with that all important preface have been all about setting the scene, and, it is well done.

What has stood out for me so far though, is Wright’s arguments on how the creeds, politics and philosophy have shaped years of theology. Darwinism, he argues is a natural evolution on understanding the how the world is, when ones stating assumptions don’t include God.

Likewise, the creeds shape how the last 1500-2000 years of theology have basically been missing the point. What the point is, I haven’t got to, but there have been some hints so far.

The important stream of thought it has started for me, and one I hope to take to parkology gatherings is how our doctrines, beliefs or values shape how we read the Bible, shape the questions we ask of our sacred text and predict what the answers will be.  Now this is not a new way of thinking for me, my MSc essentially took a version of this methodology to understand the whole story of research papers, including their tradition, etc.. But for some reason I haven’t really applied it myself and my beliefs until prompted by this book.

My challenge then, it to take a look at the canonical gospels with the parkology values at the forefront of my mind, along with whatever else I might learn from Wright.

ps. I have just also bought Kester Brewin’s new book Mutiny and that is also proving to be a good read so far.

